Gulf Migration Services Dubai

Call - +971 4 514 1174

How to Apply for Canada Skilled Immigration?

By launching the Federal Skilled Worker Program in 1967, Canada became the first country in the world to implement a merit-based points system (FSWP). The FSWP was unique and revolutionary, and it still exists today.

Up until that moment, Canada has chosen competent foreign employees at its own discretion, based on, for example, whether it thought a candidate could fit into the labour market.

Canada Skilled Immigration help improves its candidate evaluation process after realising the shortcomings of its previous method. Canada reviewed all applicants equally, taking into account factors including their age, education, career, and language abilities, as opposed to employing subjective criteria.

Since its introduction in 1967, this model has been the standard for all Canadian skilled worker programmes, and it has also been adopted by other nations.

The foundation of Canada’s immigration system is skilled labour. Currently, Canada aspires to accept over 400,000 new immigrants annually, of which 60% are skilled professionals.

How to apply for Canada Skilled Immigration?

The federal and provincial governments of Canada share responsibility for choosing skilled workers. The federal department of Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) welcomes around half of them, while the other half are recognised by the provinces and territories of Canada.

There are two methods to apply for Canada Skilled Immigration

Canada Express Entry for Skilled Workers 

Through the federal Express Entry application management system, Canada and the federal government primarily identify and choose skilled workers. You must fulfil the requirements of one of Express Entry’s three programmes in order to be eligible.

The federal government also runs a number of additional skilled worker programmes that are separate from Express Entry. These initiatives exist to assist Canada in filling a variety of labour market gaps.

Under Express Entry, Canada hopes to accept 110,000 new immigrants annually on average.

Successful candidates can obtain permanent residence status within six months, which is a significant advantage of Express Entry.

You must be eligible for at least one of the following three programmes in order to use Express Entry:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) for applicants who have never resided in Canada before, the FSWP is the most popular choice.
  • Candidates who have studied or worked in Canada frequently choose the Canadian Experience Class (CEC).
  • The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is a choice for people with a background in the skilled trades.

Alternatives for Federal Skilled Workers

According to its Immigration Levels Plan, the Canadian federal government hopes to sponsor more than 15,000 new immigrants annually through the following programmes for skilled workers:

  • Atlantic Immigration Pilot: The AIP aims to promote economic development in the Atlantic provinces of Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick.
  • Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP): The RNIP seeks to promote economic development in rural and northern communities across Canada.
  • Agri-Food Immigration Pilot: This pilot seeks to support the labour market needs of    Canada’s agri-food sector.
  • Live-in Caregiver Program (LCP): In addition to the two pilot programmes listed below, Canada is open to carers who want to help the country’s healthcare system and Canadian families.

Provincial Nominee Program for Skilled Workers

The Provincial Nominee Program is the second most popular route for skilled workers to come to Canada after Express Entry (PNP).

The PNP, which was introduced in 1998, has shown to be incredibly effective in luring qualified workers to a variety of Canadian towns in support of economic development. Today, the PNP helps Canada recruit approximately 80,000 new skilled employees each year.

The PNP is active in British Columbia, the Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick.

Each of these provinces has its own standards for qualified workers before recommending qualified applicants. The federal government’s job is to process the successful PNP candidates’ applications for permanent residency after that.

The third most common route for skilled professionals to immigrate to Canada is through Quebec. Similar to the federal government’s programmes, the province runs its own skilled worker immigration schemes. In reality, when it comes to sub-national participation in Canada’s immigration system, Quebec is a pioneer among the country’s provinces and territories.

In order to promote its economy and Francophone identity, Quebec has actively participated in the recruitment and selection of immigrants since the 1960s. Quebec selects successful applicants, just like the PNP, and the federal government subsequently handles requests for permanent residence.

Which is the Best Option for You?

Its good news to have two options for applying for Canada Skilled Immigration programmes. Depending on your score, requirement and skill set you can choose the best option for yourself. This is why you will need our help to better evaluate your skill set possibilities in the future. Our consultants will guide you with the best feasible opportunity for you to avail.

Call us now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Contact Form


× Christel here! How can I help you?